Cinnamon & Pear Slow Cooker Oatmeal

I love pears. I also love cinnamon. As of late, I’ve been combining my two loves in the form of this irresistible oatmeal. The best part? With a slow cooker, it can be made overnight while I sleep, or in the time it takes me to shower and take out my dog in the morning.

P1070947

Ingredients (serves 2, generously)

1/2 cup rolled oats (I use Bob’s Red Mill thick rolled oats)

1 or 1 and 1/3 cup almond milk

1 teaspoon cinnamon, or more

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/3 Asian pear, or one small Bosc or Bartlett pear, chopped

A dash of salt

Walnuts and honey, to serve

Method

In a slow cooker, combine the oats, cinnamon, pear, almond milk, vanilla, and salt. If cooking overnight, add an extra 1/3 cup almond milk, and cook on low-heat, 6-8 hours. Alternatively, you may cook the oatmeal in the morning, with just 1 cup of almond milk. If making in the morning, add the ingredients to the slow cooker and cook for 30 minutes on the highest setting. As shown in the first picture, I like to cook some walnuts along with the oatmeal and other ingredients.

 To enjoy, ladle the oatmeal into bowls, top with walnuts, and drizzle with honey.

P1070950

 

About continuethislabor

Hi I'm Tera. I'm interested in how flavors work together and how we can work together to be responsible Earth citizens. Currently I teach English in S. Korea with my husband, but someday we will own a small organic farm. There, we will grow vegetables, raise chickens and goats, and play Catan in our little cottage while drinking good coffee.

Leave a Reply

