White Bean and Chard Soup with Sun-dried Tomatoes

Tomatoes have been coming steadily from our garden since the beginning of June. Thanks to our dehydrator, however, I’ve yet to find myself in the position I was in last summer – up to my ears in tomatoes, force feeding them to anyone who came near our apartment.

White bean and chard soup is a favorite of mine, not only for its simplicity, but for its versatility and widespread roots. Roasted red peppers was a listed ingredient in my first brush with this soup several years ago while flipping through a cooking magazine. A couple of years later, the purchase of my beloved monastery soup cookbook introduced me to another version of the soup, made with extra garlic and the addition of more greens.  My contact with this soup didn’t stop there, however, and I soon tried it Barbara Kingsolver style – served in roasted squash halves – a delight to eat and look at!

To carry on the tradition, I am passing on my own version of this recipe, with plenty of sun-dried* tomatoes.

20140623_180308

*It should be noted that I indeed understand that, by definition, a dehydrator does not produce actual “sun-dried” tomatoes, but instead just “dried” ones.  “Sun-dried” sounds all the more appetizing though, doesn’t it?

Ingredients (serves 2-3 generously)

2 cans cannellini  beans, drained and rinsed

3-4 cups vegetable stock

3-4 garlic cloves, minced

1 large bunch chard, washed and chopped

1/3 cup sun-dried tomatoes

Cracked black pepper

1 tablespoon olive oil

Method

Heat the olive oil in a soup pot over medium heat.  Add the garlic and stir until fragrant, about 30 seconds.  Add the vegetable stock and cannellini beans and continue to heat thoroughly. When the soup has nearly reached a boil, turn off the heat and add the chard.  Immediately serve the soup, with plenty of sun-dried tomatoes and black pepper.

20140623_180335

 

Enjoy!

 

About continuethislabor

Hi I'm Tera. I'm interested in how flavors work together and how we can work together to be responsible Earth citizens. Currently I teach English in S. Korea with my husband, but someday we will own a small organic farm. There, we will grow vegetables, raise chickens and goats, and play Catan in our little cottage while drinking good coffee.

Leave a Reply

