Fresh Stonecrop Soup

Newly introduced, I was intrigued by the stonecrops in my WWOOF CSA box last week. Appearing as tiny shoots with well-developed leaves, the vegetable suggested a non-showy place as a filler in dinner salads.  But when I popped one in my mouth, the flavor was of a freshly shelled pea, a luxury since finding even frozen peas in Korea is not easy.  I used them quickly over the few days, substituting them for peas, and making dishes I had not made in a long time.

I was fortunate enough to receive stonecrops again in my CSA box this week, and, playing off their flavor, I created a mock pea soup. My husband and I found this simple soup delicious, the epitome of green. Dress the soup with one or all of the garnish options, particularly if you are one to shy away from flavors decidedly rich in chlorophyll.

Ingredients (serves 2)

3 cups stonecrops, rinsed well of any dirt

7-10 scallions, ends removed

2 cups homemade vegetable stock

1/2 tablespoon olive oil or ghee

Salt and cracked black pepper to taste

Garnish (for two servings)

2 tablespoons lemon juice

2 tablespoon plain yogurt

2 teaspoons lemon basil pesto

Method

In a small soup pot, heat the oil or ghee over medium heat. Roughly chop the scallions (white and green parts) and toss them into the pan, stirring until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add the vegetable stock. Once the stock begins to bubble, turn the heat to low and stir in the stonecrops. Heat the soup for up to one minute more (Do not overcook the greens!), then transfer to a food processor and pulse until smooth. Taste for salt, if needed, and add a few turns of the pepper grinder. Serve immediately for a warm soup, but it is fine even once it is cooled. Use one, two, or all of the garnishes.

P1040501

Enjoy!

About continuethislabor

Hi I'm Tera. I'm interested in how flavors work together and how we can work together to be responsible Earth citizens. Currently I teach English in S. Korea with my husband, but someday we will own a small organic farm. There, we will grow vegetables, raise chickens and goats, and play Catan in our little cottage while drinking good coffee.

Leave a Reply

