Warm Breakfast Polenta with Honey-Rosemary Nectarines

I recently asked my husband to pick up some fruit on his way home from work. Expecting a summer melon, my face fell when he arrived carrying a small bag.  But upon seeing the perfectly ripened nectarines (first of the season!), my countenance changed completely.

We snacked on them for a few days until last Saturday when I found myself reminiscing the Quaker Peaches and Cream Oatmeal I ate as a child.  Snatching the last two nectarines from the fruit bowl, I set out to make a healthy, more sophisticated version of my childhood favorite.  I simmered polenta with almond milk, while pan-warming nectarine halves with rosemary  and honey to create a lovely, lazy morning breakfast for two.

Ingredients (serves 2)

2 nectarines, halved, pits removed

1 cup polenta

3 1/2 to 4 cups almond milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 tablespoons honey

1 tablespoon water

2 generous cuts of fresh rosemary

Method

To a sauté pan set atop low heat, add the honey, vanilla, water and rosemary. Once heated, add the nectarine halves to the pan, face down. Gently press each halve with a wooden spoon to release the juices and partially flatten the fruit. Cook, turning once, until the fruit is heated through and quite tender, about 4 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat the almond milk in a small saucepan over medium heat. Just before a boil is reached, slowly add the polenta and turn the heat down to a simmer. Whisk   continuously until the polenta is completely cooked, 4-5 minutes. The polenta will thicken as it simmers. Add more almond milk if a thinner porridge is preferred.

Ladle the polenta into two bowls, placing two nectarine halves and a rosemary stem atop each serving.  Divide the remaining honey-rosemary syrup between the bowls and serve immediately.

Enjoy!

About continuethislabor

Hi I'm Tera. I'm interested in how flavors work together and how we can work together to be responsible Earth citizens. Currently I teach English in S. Korea with my husband, but someday we will own a small organic farm. There, we will grow vegetables, raise chickens and goats, and play Catan in our little cottage while drinking good coffee.

Leave a Reply

