Homemade Apple Cinnamon Hot Cereal

As winter draws near, warm breakfasts are sought after more than cold cereals. While I often looked to oatmeal or Cream of Wheat to satisfy this need in the States, the price of oatmeal (and lack of Cream of Wheat) in Korea has served as a hindrance to my once-enjoyed cozy breakfasts. Back in Nashville, I made my own granola cereal by carefully baking oats and tossing them with fruit pieces and coconut shavings, so why couldn’t I find an easy way to make my own hot cereal?

I choose brown rice as my grain, and set about finding ways to make it my breakfast. A quick internet search revealed that many parents already used plain brown rice to make their baby’s cereal at home, so I decided to build on the idea and create a tasty, healthy, inexpensive hot cereal that reminded me of fall. Use my apple cinnamon hot cereal recipe as follows, or just use the basic rice to liquid ratio to create your own flavor combination.

IMAGE001

Ingredients (makes 4 servings)

1 cup brown rice, uncooked

1 T flax seed

2.5 cups almond milk (water works nicely also)

1 tsp vanilla

1.5 tsp cinnamon

Half of a large apple, pureed

A drizzle of honey and nuts for topping (optional)

Method 

In a food processor or grinder, grind the brown rice and flax seed together until you reach the consistency of course flour (similar to farina or cream of wheat in appearance).

In addition to flax seed, you can experiment with other healthy seeds and grains, such as sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, quinoa, millet and unpearled barley. Keep brown rice the majority grain, and add a mixture of other grains and seeds to create a nourishing blend.

Meanwhile, heat the almond milk in a saucepan over medium heat until simmering. Add the ground rice mixture to the milk and stir constantly for three to five minutes, using a whisk if needed to remove any lumps. For a thinner cereal, use more liquid; for a thicker cereal use less liquid.

While the mixture is still cooking, add the cinnamon, vanilla, and pureed apple. Allow the flavors to mingle, cooking for at least a minute more. Be sure to stir occasionally so that the cereal does not burn.

Divide the hot cereal into bowls, and add a drizzle of honey and some chopped nuts if you would like. I used walnuts as a topping for my last batch, and it was a delicious addition.

Enjoy!

About continuethislabor

Hi I'm Tera. I'm interested in how flavors work together and how we can work together to be responsible Earth citizens. Currently I teach English in S. Korea with my husband, but someday we will own a small organic farm. There, we will grow vegetables, raise chickens and goats, and play Catan in our little cottage while drinking good coffee.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Reasons to Love Fall in Korea | kurtzesinkorea

Leave a Reply

